MAYBE YOU ARE

If I was a haircut,

I’d be uncut

Or even

crazy,

Poking out

your eyes when

you tried to pass (me).

If I was a dog,

lazy-

I’d be biting,

foaming and

My teeth would need

brushing.

If I was a cat,

I’d purr

when you

touched

my belly;

slide

up the warm parts

(of your body)

and

deny

that I owe

you

anything,

(but the privilege of

my company).

If I was a bowl,

I’d be full of soup;

(and afterward,

you could put me on

your head

and cut

around the rim).

If I was a balloon,

I’d be very light headed;

(until some little gamin,

named Timmy,

hit me with the

slingshot,

that he just got,

for Christmas).

And I

fell

to

my

death.

I’m glad I’m not

a

balloon.

FIN

taken from a book of poetry (self published in 1992) The Veal Couplets

Leave a Reply

